About Us

Karnataka State Seed Certification Agency (KSSCA), was established in the year 1974 under Section-8 of the Seeds Act 1966 as an autonomous body and registered under the Karnataka Societies Registration Act 1960 with the objectives of regulating the quality of seeds certified in the State. The Organization became operational in January 1975. Since there is scope for increasing the activities, a new division viz., Organic Certification Division has been established in the year 2013 (04.01.2013) and the Organization is renamed as “Karnataka State Seed and Organic Certification Agency” (KSSOCA).

As both the services of KSSOCA i.e., (a) Seed Certification & (b) Organic Certification are available, separate targets are fixed for both the divisions to undertake the programmes respectively.

Since then, it has been giving excellent service to the Seed Producers, Growers and the Farming community in particular. There has been an uptrend in the Certification Activities year after year and the Area Registered & the quantity of Seeds Certified has increased from 6315 ha. & 56179 qtls. in 1974 to 60536 ha. & 722584 qtls. in 2012-13 respectively. Various factors have contributed to this manifold increased like awareness amongst the farming community regarding the benefits of use of high quality seeds, encouragement by the State & Central Govts. for production and distribution of high quality seeds, participation of more no. of seed Producers and Growers in Seed Production Programme and also varied agro-climatic conditions and soil types prevailing in the state which are conducive to seed production of various crop varieties.


1. To provide quality certified seeds to the farmers to increase production & productivity;
2. Increase area under seed production and increase the availability of certified seeds to the farmers, thereby increasing the seed replacement rate (SRR);
3. Reduce the percentage of failure of seeds at field, unit as well as lab level;
4. Improve the infrastructure facilities of KSSCA for effective and timely certification activities.

The main objectives of Seed Certification Agency of KSSCA are :

a) Certify seeds of any notified kinds or varieties (under Section-5 of Seeds Act 1966);
b) Maintain a list of sources of Breeder & Foundation seeds approved by the Central Seed Certification Board;
c) Outline the procedure for submission of application for growing, harvesting, processing, storage, labelling and tagging of seeds intended for certification till the end, so as to ensure that seed lots finally approved for certification are true to variety;
d) Verify, upon receipt of an application for certification that variety is eligible for certification, that the seed used for planting is from approved source and the application has been submitted in accordance with the procedure prescribed for it;
e) Inspect seed fields to ensure that the minimum standards for isolation, rouging (wherever applicable), use of male sterility (wherever applicable) and similar factors are maintained at all times, as well as to ensure that those provided in the standards for certification;
f) Inspect seed processing plants to see that the admixtures of other kinds and varieties are not introduced;
g) Take sample and inspect seed lots produced as per procedure and have such samples tested to ensure that the seed conforms to the prescribed standards for certification;
h) Grant Certificates (including tags, seals etc.,) in accordance with the provisions of the Seeds Act;
i) Ensure that action at all stages of seed certification is taken expeditiously;
j) Undertake educational programmes designed to promote the use of certified seed, including a publication listing certified seed growers and sources of certified seed.

Organizational Set up
k) The Governing Board of the Agency is the Apex body of the Agency making decisions on the working of the institution periodically. The Secretary to Govt. of Karnataka, Agriculture Department is the Chairman of Governing Board with other official members from the departments such as Agriculture, Horticulture, UAS, Bengaluru, Dharwad, Raichur and the Department of Agriculture & Co-operation, Government of India. The Governing Board also consists of four non-official members nominated by the State Government, three from Seed Producers Association and one progressive farmer from the farming community.

Administrative Set Up
The Head Office of the Agency is located at Bengaluru while the Zonal Offices of Deputy Directors are located at Bengaluru, Dharwad and Raichur respectively. The Divisional Offices are located at Bengaluru, Mysore, Davangere, Bellary, Dharwad, Gadag, Raichur, Haveri. Bagalkot, Gulbarga, Bijapur and Koppal. Three Seed Testing Laboratories at Bengaluru, Dharwad & Raichur and two Grow-out-Test Centers at Ramakrishna Pata Shala, Anekal Taluk, Bengaluru and Dharwad.